- The history of rugby through its competitions
Skip Navigation Links
National TeamsExpand National Teams
Tier 1 nations clubsExpand Tier 1 nations clubs
Other nations clubsExpand Other nations clubs
SevensExpand Sevens
Annual Reports
Head to Head
Last updates
The Project
Women's National Championship

Overview Honours Roll Sources Current Season


It is the main competition for scottish women's clubs.
Unfortunately not all the results and even not all the winners are known.
It is probable that the league was formed in 1993 when the scottish clubs left the british WRFU to form the SWRU (Scottish Women's Rugby Union), but nothing is known about the first editions.

The league pyramid

Level 1 Women's Premier League
8 teams - 1 relegation
Level 2 Women's National League 1
7 teams - 1 promotion and 1 relegation
Level 3 Women's National League 2
7 teams - 1 promotion and 1 relegation
Level 4 Regional leagues
1 promotion

Honours Roll


www.scottishrugby.org - Official SRU site
www.scotsman.com/sport/rugby-union - Rugby union pages on the digital edition of the Scotsman
www.pitchero.com/clubs/murrayfieldwanderersfootballclub/teams/21037 - Official Murrayfield Wanderers site.
www.melroserugby.bordernet.co.uk - Official Melrose site.
kirkcaldyrugby.co.uk - Official Kirkcaldy site.
www.pitchero.com/clubs/grangemouthstags/teams/18572 - Official Grangemouth site.
Every site was scanned using also web.archive.org
Many data were given to me by SRU Competition Dept Manager.