- The history of rugby through its competitions
Skip Navigation Links
National TeamsExpand National Teams
Tier 1 nations clubsExpand Tier 1 nations clubs
Other nations clubsExpand Other nations clubs
SevensExpand Sevens
Annual Reports
Head to Head
Last updates
The Project
Sarah Beaney Cup

Overview Honours Roll Related trophies Sources Current Season


It is the main knock-out competition for scottish women's clubs.
In 2005 the cup was named after Sarah Beaney, a Murrayfield Wanderers and Scotland player, tragically dead in a car crash.
Unfortunately not all the results and even not all the winners are known.
It is probable that the cup was first played in 1993 when the scottish clubs left the british WRFU to form the SWRU (Scottish Women's Rugby Union), but nothing is known about the first editions.

The losers in the first two rounds play for the bowl, while the losers of the third round plays for the plate.

Since the season 2016/17 also a Premier Development Cup is played, during the Six Nations tournament, to let the Premier League teams play while the best players are busy with the national teams.

Honours Roll

Season:WinnersRunners upFormatResult
2019Watsonians Women (1)Hillhead/Jordanhill WomenFinal21-17
2017/18Hillhead/Jordanhill Women (3)Watsonians WomenFinal68-12
2016/17Hillhead/Jordanhill Women (2)Murrayfield Wanderers WomenFinal26-23
2015/16Murrayfield Wanderers Women (17)Hillhead/Jordanhill WomenFinal30-10
2014/15Murrayfield Wanderers Women (16)Hillhead/Jordanhill WomenFinal25-22
2013/14Murrayfield Wanderers Women (15)Melrose WomenFinal68-20
2012/13Hillhead/Jordanhill Women (1)RHC Cougars WomenFinal22-20
2011/12Murrayfield Wanderers Women (14)RHC Cougars WomenFinal20-5
2010/11Murrayfield Wanderers Women (13)Hillhead/Jordanhill WomenFinal19-7
2009/10Aberdeenshire Quines (1)Melrose WomenFinal41-29
2008/09Murrayfield Wanderers Women (12)Hillhead/Jordanhill WomenFinal19-3
2007/08Murrayfield Wanderers Women (11)RHC Cougars WomenFinal15-14
2006/07Murrayfield Wanderers Women (10)RHC Cougars WomenFinal24-8
2005/06Murrayfield Wanderers Women (9)RHC Cougars WomenFinal41-5
2004/05RHC Cougars Women (1)Murrayfield Wanderers WomenFinal22-14
2003/04Murrayfield Wanderers Women (8)RHC Cougars WomenFinal3-0
2002/03Royal High Women (1)Murrayfield Wanderers WomenFinal???
2001/02Murrayfield Wanderers Women (7) Final???
2000/01Murrayfield Wanderers Women (6) Final???
1999/00Edinburgh Accies Women (1) Final???
1998/99Murrayfield Wanderers Women (5)Edinburgh Accies WomenFinal17-10
1997/98Murrayfield Wanderers Women (4)Edinburgh Accies WomenFinal???
1996/97Edinburgh Wanderers Women (3)Aberdeenshire QuinesFinal39-0
1995/96Edinburgh Wanderers Women (2)Aberdeen University WomenFinal???
1994/95Heriot-Watt Women (1)Edinburgh Accies WomenFinal???

Related trophies

Women's Plate
Season:WinnersRunners upFormatResult
2019Stewartry Women (3)Glasgow University WomenFinal24-19
2017/18Glasgow University Women (1)Greenock Wanderers WomenFinal34-17
2016/17Stewartry Women (2)Stirling County WomenFinal29-17
2015/16Watsonians Women (4)Stirling County WomenFinal25-22
2014/15Stewartry Women (1)Ayr WomenFinal36-17
2013/14Cartha Queens Park Women (1)Watsonians WomenFinal27-12
2012/13Melrose Women (2)Stirling County WomenFinal35-19
2011/12Hillhead/Jordanhill Women (3)Aberdeenshire QuinesFinal58-15
2010/11RHC Cougars Women (1)Stirling County WomenFinal71-0
2009/10Stirling County Women (1)Morgan WomenFinal34-10
2008/09Edinburgh University Women (1)Kirkcaldy WomenFinal34-0
2007/08Kirkcaldy Women (1)Glasgow University WomenFinal36-5
2006/07Watsonians Women (3)GHA WomenFinal24-5
2005/06Watsonians Women (2)Berwick WomenFinal83-0
2004/05Melrose Women (1)Berwick WomenFinal???
2003/04Hillhead/Jordanhill Women (2) Final???
2002/03Watsonians Women (1)Lismore WomenFinal???
2001/02Royal High Women (1) Final???
2000/01Edinburgh Accies Women (1) Final???
1999/00Hillhead/Jordanhill Women (1) Final???
1998/99Perthshire Women (1) Final???
1997/98Glasgow Southern Women (1)Hillhead/Jordanhill WomenFinal???
Women's Bowl
Season:WinnersRunners upFormatResult
2019Greenock Wanderers Women (1)Livingston WomenFinal72-12
2017/18Oban Lorne Women (1)Garioch WomenFinal45-5
2016/17Garioch Women (1)Kirkcaldy WomenFinal29-20
2015/16Glasgow University Women (2)Howe of Fife WomenFinal15-0
2014/15Watsonians Women (1)Morgan WomenFinal54-5
2013/14Broughton Women (1)Ayr WomenFinal17-7
2012/13Morgan Women (1)Glasgow University WomenFinal19-12
2011/12Stirling County Women (1)Cartha Queens Park WomenFinal32-15
2010/11Cartha Queens Park Women (1)Aberdeenshire QuinesFinal19-10
2009/10Hillhead/Jordanhill Women (1)Murrayfield Wanderers WomenFinal16-12
2008/09Aberdeenshire Quines (1)Lismore WomenFinal24-10
2007/08Melrose Women (2)Morgan WomenFinal44-5
2006/07Glasgow University Women (1)Melrose WomenFinal12-5
2005/06GHA Women (1)Lismore WomenFinal53-5
2003/04Melrose Women (1) Final???
2001/02Strathmore Women (2) Final???
2000/01Strathmore Women (1) Final???
1999/00East Kilbride Women (1) Final???
1998/99Midlothian Women (1) Final???
1997/98Berwick Women (1)Duns WomenFinal???
Premier Development Cup


www.scottishrugby.org - Official SRU site
www.scotsman.com/sport/rugby-union - Rugby union pages on the digital edition of the Scotsman
www.pitchero.com/clubs/murrayfieldwanderersfootballclub/teams/21037 - Official Murrayfield Wanderers site.
www.melroserugby.bordernet.co.uk - Official Melrose site.
kirkcaldyrugby.co.uk - Official Kirkcaldy site.
www.pitchero.com/clubs/grangemouthstags/teams/18572 - Official Grangemouth site.
Every site was scanned using also web.archive.org
Many data were given to me by SRU Competition Dept Manager.