- The history of rugby through its competitions
Skip Navigation Links
National TeamsExpand National Teams
Tier 1 nations clubsExpand Tier 1 nations clubs
Other nations clubsExpand Other nations clubs
SevensExpand Sevens
Annual Reports
Head to Head
Last updates
The Project
SuperSport Rugby Challenge

Overview Honours Roll Related trophies Current Season


It is a competition played at the beginning of the season, during Super Rugby.

It's first predecessor was the Lion Cup, played between 1983 and 1994. It was a knock-out competition played during all season and open to every south african union.

After one year of stop, in 1996 Bankfin Nite Series were created. It was a competition played in the evening, with an experimental point system that rewarded offensive game giving many bonus points to teams scoring many tries.

In 1998 Vodacom Cup was created. Some union plays with emerging team and the competition is open also to team from outside South Africa. During the year it was played by Namibia XV, Zimbabwe XV, Kenya XV and Pampas XV.
In 2001 and 2002 teams eliminated after Vodacom Cup first phase played for Vodacom Shield. In 2003 and 2004 Vodacom Cup and Vodacom Shield were played as 2 divisions with promotions and relegations. Since 2005 Vodacom Shield was abandoned and every team plays Vodacom Cup.
The cup was discontinued in 2016 after a new SARU competition revamping.

Since 2018 the Rugby Challenge is played.

Honours Roll

Season:WinnersRunners upFormatResult
2019Griquas (1)PumasFinal28-13
2018Pumas (1)GriquasFinal32-30
2017Western Province (1)GriquasFinal28-19
TeamTitlesRunners up
Western Province10

Related trophies

Vodacom Cup
Vodacom Shield
Lion Cup
Bankfin Nite Series
Season:WinnersRunners upFormatResult
1997Western Province (1)BolandFinal36-25
1996Free State Cheetahs (1)BorderFinal46-34
TeamTitlesRunners up
Free State Cheetahs10
Western Province10